12 opportunity areas

Social mobility and the 12 opportunity areas

Share This:

The Opportunity Areas programme was announced in October 2016, at that stage the initial six areas were identified and a further six areas were identified in January 2017.

The delivery plans for the 12 opportunity areas outline how the government plans to build young people’s knowledge and skills and provide them with the best advice and opportunities.

The selection methodology explains how the government decided which areas would be classified as ‘opportunity areas’.

The selection data spreadsheet presents the data which they originally considered when identifying the areas in greatest need.

The 12 opportunity areas are:

Unlocking Talent, Fulfilling Potential

Opportunity areas are part of the government’s national plan for dealing with social mobility through education. The plan – Unlocking Talent, Fulfilling Potential – is a policy paper which sets out how we will remove obstacles that could stop people from achieving their potential.